MyOxbridge

Oxbridge Alumni

Quicklinks

Leadership

Dr. Ralph Maurer Appointed Head of School

Dr. Ralph Maurer assumed the role of Head of School for Oxbridge Academy on July 1, 2018. He joined us in January 2018 as Head of School-Elect, working closely with John Klemme to ensure a smooth transition in leadership. Mr. Klemme stepped down as Head of School to return to the classroom to teach English.

Before joining Oxbridge, Dr. Maurer served as the Headmaster of The International School Nido de Aguilas (Nido), an independent English-language international day school in Santiago, Chile. Nido has a 1,750-member student body (58% of whom are from outside Chile, with 17% from the U.S.), encompassing Pre-K through 12th grades. During his tenure, Dr. Maurer led the school’s strategic planning process; strengthened the school’s project-based learning program; developed strong arts and athletic programs; created a professional development academy; and established the school’s first endowment fund. He is a regular contributor to the global discussion regarding innovation in independent schools, presenting at the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) annual conference and participating in the NAIS Institute for New Heads.

Prior, Dr. Maurer was a faculty member and administrator at the Freeman School of Business at Tulane University, where he was in charge of the entrepreneurship curriculum, and was one of Tulane’s primary public figures on the subject. While at Tulane, Dr. Maurer served as the founding executive director of the New Orleans Startup Fund, raising more than $4 million in investment capital to help rebuild the city after Hurricane Katrina by stimulating early stage high-growth entrepreneurship, including funding the development of Kickboard, a classroom management software company. Additionally, he did consulting work for Daimler-Benz Research & Technology and was a co-founder of consulting firm EMH Strategy. At EMH, he and his partners developed strategic, financial, operational, and feasibility plans for a variety of education institutions, including the Emeril Lagasse Foundation, New Orleans Center for Creative Arts secondary school, and Cafe Reconcile community center educational facility, as well as working on projects for the Louisiana Department of Education. He played an instrumental role in launching The Idea Lab at St. Martin’s Episcopal School (PK-12).

Dr. Maurer is a Florida native from Gainesville, where both his parents taught at the University of Florida. He is a graduate of Phillips Exeter Academy. He earned a Bachelor’s of Science degree in communications studies from Northwestern University, a Master’s of Business Administration from the University of Florida, and a Ph.D. in management science and engineering from Stanford University. Dr. Maurer is a native of Florida. He lives in West Palm Beach with his wife, Dr. Meg Butler, a classical archeologist, and their 10-year-old son.

Dr. Ralph Maurer
Head of School
rmaurer@oapb.org

Sam Cruz
VP & CFO
scruz@oapb.org

Dr. Anne Reilly
Acting Academic Dean
areilly@oapb.org

Dennis Yuzenas
Director of Admission
dyuzenas@oapb.org

Craig Meister
Director of College Counseling
cmeister@oapb.org

Stan Ross
Dean of Students
sross@oapb.org

Patrick Hollern
Athletic Director
phollern@oapb.org

Lisa Toth
Director of Transportation and School Events
ltoth@oapb.org

Brandon Murray
IT Director
bmurray@oapb.org

Rebecca De Jesus
Controller
rdejesus@oapb.org

Lisa Murphy
Director of Communications
lmurphy@oapb.org

Melissa Nace-Perez
Director of Human Resources
mnace-perez@oapb.org